While studying the feasibility of using iPads in class, I received the usual feedback and concerns of what the device can bring about.

… may cause some to be distracted and when they are back at home …

… may spend the time playing games at home …

However there was a time before iPads, smartphones or even computers become the common household item, in the 70s, 80s and even 90s, when there were concerns that students were spending too much time on watching TV programmes. I have to admit that as a student, I never like to spend my time on homework unless it is something that interest me. My time is spent on doing stuff I like and when I got the first computer in the late 80s, I could spend hours a day on computer games. Well at least I turn out pretty fine.

Fast forward to 21st century, the same argument is still raging but now over a different technology. As a teacher, on one hand I would like the full attention of my students so that they can do well in exams. On the other hand, I am fully aware that I am no longer the gatekeeper of Physics knowledge, I should be equipping my students with the skills they need to survive in a globalised economy.

For the past few years, technology has taken the headlines as the medicine for the future of our learners. After reading some articles, blogs, etc, there is no agreement among the stakeholders on whether technology is a bane or boon to education. Below are some articles

